The seven patrol deputies operate under the direction of the Sheriff and the Chief Deputy. The patrol deputies answer all calls for assistance, complaints, crimes in progress, serve warrants and civil papers as well as call for service from members of the public.  Deputies also verify and enforce sex offender compliance.  Deputies respond to calls for assistance from other agencies and counties.  Deputies have jurisdiction throughout the county in both incorporated and unincorporated areas which consist of approximately 600 square miles.  Patrol deputies are responsible for patrolling and investigating accidents on gravel and paved county roads as well as state and federal highways within Howard County.  Deputies provide these services 24/7 365 days a year.

Deputies patrol the county in its fleet of four-wheel-drive Dodge Durangos and hemi-powered Dodge Chargers.  All patrol vehicles are equipped with state-of-the-art traffic radars and radios.  The units are also equipped with fire extinguishers, first aid kits, and various accident and crime scene investigation tools.  Our deputies are trained in C.P.R. and first aid and often perform these duties while awaiting emergency medical services.

Our deputies carry Glock sidearms for protection and Remington 1187 shotguns that can fire lethal and less-than-lethal rounds.  The deputies have been trained and certified in the use of less-than-lethal munitions.  All deputies have earned TASER operator certification and each deputy has been issued an X2 TASER.  Deputies are also equipped with Colt M-4 patrol rifles.  Deputies must successfully qualify with and maintain proficiency with all weapons on a yearly basis.

Deputy Todd Tallant

Member of the  Arkansas Sheriff's Association Honor Guard

Quick 2.jpgDeputy Aaron Quick

trent coffman.JPGDeputy Trent Coffman

Jake.JPGDeputy Jake Eudy

brandon smith.JPG
Deputy Brandon Smith
colt kuydendall.JPG
Deputy Colt Kuykendall

joel 2.JPG

Deputy Joel Kesterson

Nashville City Officer Justin Thornton

Trooper Pete Penney
Deputy Travis Turner
John Partain and Keith Teague, Wildlife Officers for Howard County

ASP Trooper Travis Hale / Troop G
Howard County

ASP Trooper Kyle Jones / Troop G
Howard County