Detention Center

The current Howard County Detention Facility has been in operation since August 1993.  In order to build and operate this facility, county voters approved a one quarter cent sales tax increase to fund the $1.3 million facility.

The Howard County Detention Facility is staffed by the Jail Administrator and eleven Jailers/Dispatchers- Brittney Gilbert, LaJuana Lindsey, Verton Miller, Jordan Neel, Samuel Rodgers, Lindsay Bennett, Rebecca Castleman, Makayla Hill, Taylor Buttrum and one food-service employee, Lois Bowlin.

All persons who are arrested and taken into custody are transported to the Detention Facility for booking and incarceration.  The Detention Facility inmates are housed according to Arkansas Jail Standards.  The Detention Facility houses felony pre-trial detainees, felony convicted awaiting transport to the Arkansas Department of Corrections, misdemeanor detainees, female inmates and Act 309 inmates.

The inmates have access to television, telephone calls and visitation.  The inmates are not allowed to smoke unless they are approved to work outside of the facility.  The Detention facility has a full kitchen where all meals are prepared for inmates.  The ordering of food products and the preparation of the meals is overseen by Lois Bowlin.  Mrs. Bowlin is assisted by Act 309 inmates, who are state prisoners assigned to work duties in local detention facilities.

Each member of the Detention Facility staff is cross-trained to jail or dispatch.  Each one is required to complete a forty hour Arkansas Law Enforcement Training Academy (ALETA) approved training to become a certified jailer.  They also receive certified training in Arkansas/National Crime Information Center (ACIC/NCIC) terminal operations and BAC Datamaster Breathalyzer operations and procedures.

Jailer/Booking Officer: Responsible for the receiving and intake process for all prisoners.  This includes searching, computer book-in, fingerprinting, photographing, change-out and housing cell block assignments.  They are also responsible for security of the facility, inmate observation and communicating with the inmates.

Dispatcher: Responsible for answering incoming phone calls, handling radio communications with Sheriff's Deputies, Nashville Police Officers, Mineral Springs Police Officers,  Dierks Police Officers, Arkansas State Troopers and other officers in the field.  They are also responsible for handling all inquiries and entries into the NCIC/ACIC system, coordinating Sheriff's Office operations with other law enforcement agencies and the 911 communications center.

Brittney Gilbert

LaJuana Lindsey
Verton Miller
Jordan Neel

Lois Bowlin
Food Service

 Facility transportation

 Inmate and Community Service Road Crew

Inmate Road Crew